Chloe M. O'Connor | Layout, Illustration, and Freelance Design

Portfolio and blog

I Quit Sugar: Week 4

Week four is over. This is basically how I feel:

Preach it, Harry.

Preach it, Harry. P.S. Let’s be no-sugar buddies.

Life without sugar is making me vocally grumpy, and even though I know what I’m doing is for the best, I just want some ice cream, man! And that doughnut on the office table. And the whole bag of brown sugar I hid in the back of my pantry. Sarah Wilson, author of “I Quit Sugar,” said this would happen. It may be the hardest part of all this.

Explaining why I’m doing this is getting easier. Those closest to me are beginning to understand this is not just breaking the physical addiction to sugar (grab and eat whatever is in sight) but also the mental dependence (see above thoughts on ice cream, doughnut, brown sugar).

The best new snack I made this week is homemade peanut butter. Here’s how it works:

  • Dump a bunch o’ unsalted roasted peanuts in your food processor.
  • Grind ’em up until smooth. Or chunky. I don’t like chunky PB.

That’s it. You don’t even have to add oil because the peanut oil seeps out of the nuts when ground. Amazing. Store in the refrigerator for up to two weeks. Next time I make it I’m going to add some cinnamon to make it more dessert-like!

What's a pea nut? These gents at the1909 Alaska-Yukon-Pacific Exposition, held in Seattle, Wash., were trying to sell them.

What’s a pea nut? These gents at the 1909 Alaska-Yukon-Pacific Exposition, held in Seattle, Wash., were trying to sell them.

I’m back on yoga track. I forgot how calming it is. I practice my breathing technique while lying in bed at night. It helps me fall asleep.

I certainly had food trials in week four:

  • Each day is still a test. When I’m not thinking of other things, I’m thinking of sugar. I forget how it tastes, but my brain thinks I need it. No, brain, you’re wrong.
  • Eating out. Lucky for me I can’t afford to eat out but maybe once a month, and I much prefer learning a new recipe and having lots of leftovers. But the roommate and I had a tea party at The Crumpet in Rogers, thanks to the awesome J who passed along her soon-to-expire Living Social daily deal. We had a lovely pot of Londonderry tea, and I resisted the amazing orange rolls. I opted for a turkey and Swiss sandwich on rye (there were a few slices of tomato … and I ate them), which came with a good, dark green salad. I didn’t know the sugar content of the dressing, but it was a feta vinaigrette. It was good, but I’m going to take a gander and say it was sugar-filled. Ah well, I can’t do anything about it now.

No new side-effects have appeared this week. I actually feel pretty good, considering I’m detoxing. I have been taking baths each weekend in my small apartment tub.

The New York Tribune page from Dec. 17, 1905 advertises the benefits of a public bath. It does not look like fun to me. I'll take my tiny tub any day.

This New York Tribune page from Dec. 17, 1905 advertises the benefits of a public bath. It does not look like fun to me. I’ll take my tiny tub any day.

I haven’t noticed any new positive changes, but I am still impressed that I eat less and feel more full. My wallet thanks me.

Week five! Hooray, I made it past the halfway point! I’m thinking a giveaway should be in the near future. Vote below and let me know what you think!

Filed under: Books, Health, News, Products, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses

  1. Mom says:

    That public bath is hilarious!

Leave a Reply

Want to be in the know? Enter your e-mail and you'll receive a message in your inbox when I post something new.

Join 20 other followers

Recent Tweets

