Chloe M. O'Connor | Layout, Illustration, and Freelance Design

Portfolio and blog

‘I Quit Sugar’ … Wait, What?

"I Quit Sugar" by Sarah Wilson

“I Quit Sugar” by Sarah Wilson

Yes, it’s true. I am quitting sugar. To be more precise, I am quitting fructose, the big, bad sugar that turns into fat.

Don’t freak out, folks. I am not giving up all things sweet forever. I am merely going through the process of learning how to make better choices while at the same time breaking myself of my sugar addiction. And it is going to be quite a process — eight weeks, in fact.

I read a book aptly titled “I Quit Sugar” by Sarah Wilson, an Australian journalist and former editor of Cosmopolitan. Sarah very simply lays out the benefits of removing sugar from one’s diet, and explains why fructose is the culprit of so many common health issues.

Here are my reasons for breaking the habit:

  • I’m addicted. I have been eating about 10 times as much sugar as our bodies are made to handle. Ten times! Yuck-o!
  • I can’t lose the gut. I have been doing yoga/Pilates workouts from home, but can’t seem to slim down my lower belly.
  • I am sluggish, tired, and can get unbearably grumpy. No fun for all involved.
  • I have experienced painful digestive issues. These usually hit me at work, a most inconvenient time!
  • I want my face to clear up. I have battled acne since my early teens and I’m sick of it!
  • I eat my emotions. Instead of turning to food when I’m stressed, I’d like to create healthy alternatives — exercising, writing, playing guitar and whatever else I learn to love.
  • I spend too much money on food. I don’t even eat out but once a month, but I love to cook, bake and snack. Breaking the sugar habit will keep me from grabbing that pricey pint of ice cream and will help me stick to my budget.

“I Quit Sugar” suggests several things I can do to remain accountable throughout the journey, one of which is blogging. Here we go, then. I will check back in with you in a few days to tell you about how the first week works and how I have managed! You can still look forward to my picks of the week on Fridays and the random reviews.

If you have any questions along the way, I make a promise to be completely open about my experience of quitting sugar. And if you have any tips of your own, let me know!

Filed under: Books, Entertainment, Health, News, , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses

  1. frogmartian says:

    I saw your jumbo bag o’ corn chips in the pantry yesterday. Don’t worry: I checked them to make sure there’s no fructose, and you are good to go!

  2. My Ramblings says:

    Let me know how it goes! We have been trying to cut back for a while, but quitting? That’s another matter, and we’re so addicted!

  3. J says:

    Chloe—We will try to have some non-fructose treats for you (and all of us!) on Wednesday for our 4th-o-July party!

  4. This is really cool. I have heard people say that if refined sugar had been invented today, it would be classified as an illegal drug, because it is addictive and mood altering. x

  5. ccpruett says:

    Love it! I’m doing the same thing – it’s so nice to know others are out there doing it too! Makes me feel less alone when everyone around me looks at me like I’m nuts for not eating sugar. But I trust the final results will be well worth it! Best of luck! And check out my blog if you’re looking for some encouragement :)
    http://ccpruett.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

Want to be in the know? Enter your e-mail and you'll receive a message in your inbox when I post something new.

Join 20 other followers

Recent Tweets

