Chloe M. O'Connor | Layout, Illustration, and Freelance Design

Portfolio and blog

Classic film series and OBU blogabout

Ouachita Baptist University Blogabout

On this day in history, Ouachita Baptist College (now University) became a reality. And how glad I am!

I could write about the colorful campus, the friendly folks, the A+ academics. I could write about how Ouachita changed and grew me. But I’m not going to. I’m just going to give these bits of advice to prospective students of this University:

  • If you step on campus for the first time and God nudges you, I can bet He’s telling you OBU is right for you.
  • If you leave campus and God nudges you, call up your admissions counselor. Maybe you just need to talk some more to someone who knows and loves Ouachita.
  • If your sibling goes to OBU, it might be the right place for you. Pray on it, explore your options and when God nudges you toward OBU, listen to Him.
  • If you are a high school student looking to attend a small Christian college, check out OBU!

Both of my sisters attend Ouachita, but going there was not an easy decision for either of them. Their experiences have been completely different than mine. That’s what makes this school so wonderful.

Leading into my design below, I shall use a cliché and say, “Jump on the band wagon!” Join the Ouachita family. And if you students get a call from my sister Madison who is working as a telecounselor, don’t hang up on her!

Happy Founders Day. On this lovely Labor Day, I recommend checking out “The Band Wagon,” a 1953 musical starring Fred Astaire and Cyd Charisse. The storyline is uncontrived and solid for a musical, and the dancing between Astaire and Charisse is impeccable. There are laughs aplenty and songs galore, including the famous “That’s Entertainment.”

For this classic film series piece, I captured a moment from “Dancing in the Dark,” a gorgeous Astaire/Charisse dance sequence in Central Park.

The Band Wagon, 1953

Filed under: 1950s, Classic Film Series, Design, Entertainment, News, , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response

  1. whimzie says:

    I’ve loved reading everyone’s BlogAbout posts!

Leave a Reply

Want to be in the know? Enter your e-mail and you'll receive a message in your inbox when I post something new.

Join 20 other followers

Recent Tweets

