Chloe M. O'Connor | Layout, Illustration, and Freelance Design

Portfolio and blog

And the nominees are …

The nominations are in. The Academy Awards are within reach. Just a month away. March 7 cannot come soon enough. Of course I am thrilled.

And of course I am still upset about the 10-film best picture category. This is the first year the Academy has 10 movies up for the big prize. I still don’t get the point of having 10, especially now that the nominations have been revealed.

Here they are in alphabetical order, because that’s the only way to show my biaslessness (I’ll show my bias in a minute):

  • Avatar*
  • The Blind Side*
  • District 9#
  • An Education%
  • The Hurt Locker*
  • Inglourious Basterds#
  • Precious%
  • A Serious Man%
  • Up#
  • Up in the Air%

* denotes “I have seen”
# denotes “On DVD and on my Nexflix list”
% denotes “I wanna/gotta see it!”

I’ve heard lots of wonderful things this season about all of the nominated films. But do all 10 deserve to be nominated?

Maybe.

I’m afraid The Blind Side was nominated for box-office results reasons, and because of Sandra Bullock. Hey, Sandra Bullock is one of my favorite actors and a beautiful, strong woman. But a one-woman show does not a good movie make. The Blind Side was good because of the true life story behind it (thank you Michael Oher for being you, and thank you Michael Lewis for writing the book). There was nothing else special about that film. I cried, and I used to judge a movie’s success on it’s ability to make me cry, but I squirt a tear during approximately 94% of all movies I see nowadays, and I have really dry eyes. Hmm.

I just saw The Hurt Locker this weekend. What was good about it? Everything. The story was real, the locations looked like a documentary and the men were lovely. Jeremy Renner? Yes. Congrats on the best actor nod, man.

Inglourious Basterds is sitting on my DVD player, waiting to be watched. It’s a long one, though, so I’m saving it for the weekend when I can give it my full attention.

Up was just moved to the top of my Netflix list today following it’s best picture and best animated feature and best original score AND best original screenplay nominations (oh, and sound editing, too). Jeepers! It must be a good one.

Should The Hangover have been nominated? It did win the best musical/comedy Golden Globe. And because it wasn’t nominated for, well, anything by the Academy, I moved it down on my Netflix list.

If only five films had been nominated, here’s what I could have guessed:

  • Avatar
  • The Hurt Locker
  • Inglourious Basterds
  • Precious
  • Up in the Air

Since I can’t change the 10-film thing, all I can hope is that The Hurt Locker beats Avatar. Yes, I said it.

Update 02/03/10: A Serious Man comes out on DVD Feb. 9. It’s at the top of my Netflix list!

Filed under: Academy Awards, Entertainment, Hollywood, Movies, Netflix, Oscars

Leave a Reply

Want to be in the know? Enter your e-mail and you'll receive a message in your inbox when I post something new.

Join 20 other followers

Recent Tweets

