Chloe M. O'Connor | Layout, Illustration, and Freelance Design

Portfolio and blog

Whirlwind

The last few weeks have been a whirlwind. I’ve had papers, articles, classes to register for, an internship to apply for, and a whole lot of excitement has been brewing on campus about the upcoming break!

Tomorrow, Ira Glass is coming to campus. I cannot wait to hear him speak. I just recently started watching his Showtime version of “This American Life.” It’s wonderful. Anyone who has Netflix can instantly stream both seasons, so check it out. The man knows how to tell a story.

There is still a lot of work to be done before Thanksgiving.

I recently took on the roll as design chair for Medusa Magazine, a brand new feminist magazine at SU. We’re trying to get an issue out before spring break, so I have a lot of headway to make in creating an identity for the magazine. They have already designed a flag, which is nice, but everything else about the magazine is spread out. It’s my job to bring it all together through design.

I am also managing a team for my content management research class. We have a group (about 10 of us right now, but it could grow by a few more people) who is looking at The Newshouse site. Each person has to find an issue and a solution for something content management related. While I am not responsible for a report, I am making sure everyone else is on top of things, reporting back to our professor, editing the reports and compiling them into a beautiful package. Things will get crazy in the next few weeks regarding that class.

For advanced reporting, we are done writing. Our final project is an audio slide show personality profile. While it may seem easier because we don’t have to have seven sources (like usual), it’s not any easier or less time-consuming. We are each responsible for our own story, so we have to collect the sound and the photos, edit both, and put it all together. I’m having trouble finding a subject. But once I find him/her, it’s full speed ahead on that project.

In web design we have to build a website for a client. We haven’t really talked about it all that much, but I’m in the process of securing a client. More about that when it’s solid.

Ethics class is slowing down, since we just turned in our research paper. But we’re still having some great (and some not-so-great) discussions in class. And there is the take home final exam to look forward to …

A week and a half until I see my parents! They are flying up to Syracuse for the holiday. We’ll visit Niagara Falls for a day, and I’ll finally get to show my mom Syracuse and the Newhouse complex. I am so excited, I can barely concentrate. But I know each finished task leads me one step closer to the break!

Filed under: Movies, Netflix, Newhouse, Syracuse, TV on DVD

Leave a Reply

Want to be in the know? Enter your e-mail and you'll receive a message in your inbox when I post something new.

Join 20 other followers

Recent Tweets

