Chloe M. O'Connor | Layout, Illustration, and Freelance Design

Portfolio and blog

The Fall Semester Approaches

I don’t know if I mentioned this earlier, but I’m going to be an instructor’s assistant at Newhouse! The class is GRA 217, which is the undergraduate (mostly sophomores, some juniors and transfers) lecture section of the design class I took this summer. It’s an introduction to graphic arts for Newhouse students. I’ll be in the GRA 217 IA office (Newhouse 1 119) a lot, but my solid office hours are Tuesdays and Thursdays, 3:45-4:45 p.m., right before the 5-6:20 p.m. class.

I’m excited for a number of reasons. The biggest reason is I get to connect with undergraduate students whom I may otherwise never meet. I don’t want to be stuck in my graduate bubble when there are a thousand other people around me who love media as much as I do!

The second is I get to work with Professor Greg Hedges. He was the main professor in this summer’s lecture. He knows his stuff and I can tell we have similar ideals when it comes to design and the process of finding a good solution.

Another reason to be thankful for this position is the financial award I received: six tuition credits (which is half of my fall semester), and an hourly wage for 10 hours a week. This definitely takes some strain off the debit I’ve been accumulating over the years. School is an investment, and I understand that. I glad to have been able to come this far in my education, and the awards I have been given along the way (at Ouachita and Syracuse) have been a blessing.

This IA adventure begins Tuesday, along with my first fall semester class! I cannot wait. Well, maybe I won’t mind my last few days of vacation!

Filed under: Newhouse, News, Syracuse

Leave a Reply

Want to be in the know? Enter your e-mail and you'll receive a message in your inbox when I post something new.

Join 20 other followers

Recent Tweets

